Hello, all...I'm fairly new to assembler and MASM, but by no means new to programming.

I just have a simple question about why

invoke TextOut,hdc,0,0,ADDR foo,SIZEOF foo-1

works, but

.data
PosX db 0
PosY db 0
.code
invoke TextOut,hdc,PosX,PosY,ADDR foo,SIZEOF foo-1

doesn't work. (TextOut is expecting ints for these two arguments). Is it something to do with an int being signed, and db or dw not being signed? How do I make an int-compatible variable in MASM?

Thanks!
Posted on 2002-12-01 02:58:55 by frep45
you're wondering?
look at the definition of TextOut in your API:

BOOL TextOut(

HDC hdc, // handle of device context
int nXStart, // x-coordinate of starting position
int nYStart, // y-coordinate of starting position
LPCTSTR lpString, // address of string
int cbString // number of characters in string
);

you have as xpos and ypos an integer; but you define a byte (with db - declare byte). so you gotta define a word (same size as an integer) with dw, but a word sould work too (dd)
Posted on 2002-12-01 03:49:45 by hartyl
Yes, one thing to remember is that Masm32 only does type checking by data size. If you look in windows.inc, you'll see a lot of lines like:

UINT typedef DWORD
Posted on 2002-12-01 04:19:11 by Qweerdy
Just to clear up what hartyl said...
an int/uint is a dword and a short is a word
Posted on 2002-12-01 05:57:30 by MArtial_Code
Alright, I had tried word (dw) before, but not dword (dd). The latter is the only one that works. Thanks for your help, I'll hopefully be asking less noobie-ish questions from now on :)
Posted on 2002-12-01 12:41:59 by frep45
We all Posted on 2002-12-01 23:50:58 by scientica
This is nothing but a malicious lie.

(except from Hutch who was born with a built-in assembler)

Back in about 1990 my original trashcan directory was full of stuff so dangerous that it made an ebola virus look like a common cold.