my mp3Player is almost done now, so i started another project. :cool:
i started playing around with the master boot record (mbr) of a floppy. i created some bootcode and wrote "hello world" on the screen - at bootup. finally i thought of making some kind of a OS. so i want to launch my core by reading it from the disk and jumping to the entry point.

i can read the TOC of the disk and i printed it on the screen, but i can't interpret it - where do i really (which C.H.S) get this file?
i've searched the board & the internet for it, but couln't find matching things.
does anyone have related links or tipps/suggestions?
Posted on 2002-12-01 10:29:51 by hartyl
please post your mp3 player please
thanks
Posted on 2002-12-01 11:09:20 by Thor0Asgard
i can't upload anything, becaus my IE would hang the system.
but i still want to know how i can interpret the (& get) the ToC of a FDD or HDD!
Posted on 2002-12-02 12:53:53 by hartyl
Thor0Asgard, I have attached three mp3-players. Not very pretty
to look at. But they play mp3's(none coded by me).
Posted on 2002-12-02 13:07:03 by natas
could you please stop converting my "ToC of a FloppyDisk"-thread into a mp3Player-thread?
thanks.
Posted on 2002-12-02 13:30:39 by hartyl
Hartyl, dont get all crazy on me now? this is not
the first thread were someone asks a question wich
jumps out of the topic? so lighten up. ( :) )

Anyway, you say you have searched all over the net etc.
Well have you checked out this webpage?
http://www.programmersheaven.com/zone5/cat469/index.htm
I think you should be able to find anything you need there.
Posted on 2002-12-02 13:52:50 by natas
Hi,

since this job is really interesting I recommed two things.
- first search the web for "FatFormat.pdf" from M$- second search the board for "MenuetOS" which is the
first step just to get an idea of coding an own OS which
as far as I remember already includes FAT support.

Bye Miracle
Posted on 2002-12-03 04:17:49 by miracle