Hi.
I'm new to WinSock, so please, be patient ;)

I found a dicrepancy in MSDN considering shutdown() and FD_CLOSE notification (from WSAsyncSelect doc)
The sequence from shutdown() doc is

1 Call WSAAsyncSelect to register for FD_CLOSE notification.
2 Call shutdown with how=SD_SEND.
3 When FD_CLOSE received, call recv until zero returned, or SOCKET_ERROR.
4 Call closesocket.

I'm using message notification sockets. So I'm always catching FD_CLOSE
from WSAsyncSelect doc:

WSAsyncSelect doc, FD_CLOSE description

FD_CLOSE: Only valid on connection-oriented sockets (for example, SOCK_STREAM)
when WSAAsyncSelect called, if socket connection has been closed,
after remote system initiated graceful close, when no data currently available to receive (note: if data has been received and is waiting to be read when the remote system initiates a graceful close, the FD_CLOSE is not delivered until all pending data has been read),
after local system initiates graceful close with shutdown and remote system has responded with "End of Data" notification (for example, TCP FIN), when no data currently available to receive,
when remote system terminates connection (for example, sent TCP RST), and lParam will contain WSAECONNRESET error value.

It seems, at least for the case #2 there is no need to call recv after
receiving FD_CLOSE since all FD_READ message are delivered by this time.

I'm not sure for other case, but when I call recv I get 0.
So, in which cases is it really necessary to loop with recv (especially when I don't expect anything else from the remote site and have one thread )?
Posted on 2002-12-05 17:13:34 by Sergo
It seems, at least for the case #2 there is no need to call recv after
receiving FD_CLOSE since all FD_READ message are delivered by this time.