Hello. I'm a newbie so please be gentle.

While I have studied a number of books on real mode assembly the last year, I am really interested in Win32 assembly. My knowledge of Windows programming using C/C++ and API/MFC is rather limited, but by following Iczelion's tutorial I see that the Win32 API is used extensively. While it's a great tutorial, it covers things I don't understand yet or at least I feel like I need further information to flesh out my understanding.

Besides the final chapter in William Jones' book, I've found no Win32 assembly books that cover everything needed from scratch. Would working my way though a book like Win32 Programming be the advisable way to prepare myself for tackling Win32 assembly? (i.e. Learn Windows API programming via C before coming back and applying it to assembly.) Is this what most of you had to do? I realize I have quite a bit of studying ahead before I'll be more then a mere novice.

I've searched through the posts on this awesome :grin: forum and see that there are no books currently devoted to Win32 assembly.
Posted on 2002-12-20 13:39:05 by Masmer
Programming Windows 9x by Charles Petzold. Read that book, it contains everything you need to know.

it's in C but shouldn't be a problem to make a direct conversion :)
Posted on 2002-12-20 13:59:36 by Hiroshimator
Thanks for assuring me about my course of action. I recently acquired Petzold's Programming Windows 95 at a used book store and have started studying it. My father bought me the Win32 Programming book mentioned above for my Christmas present too.
Posted on 2002-12-20 15:40:00 by Masmer
It's always nice to have a real book. I like the WIN32 Programming API Bible, from the Waite Group. It has tons of examples and includes a CD of the C source code. Companion books are also available, like the Database & Controls API Bible, and the Multimedia & Networking API Bible.