now i'm new to ASM
now i want to run assebler with tasm.exe and tlink.exe
I dont know what different with tasm32,tlink32,masm32?
Can i use them to assembly with my homework
But the first homework that just print "Hello"
I assembler with masm32(that i installed before RadASM) then i got this message:

C:\Documents and Settings\Hai Hoang\My Documents\cecs325\FIRST.asm(17) : error A2006: undefined symbol : DGROUP
C:\Documents and Settings\Hai Hoang\My Documents\cecs325\FIRST.asm(27) : warning A4023: with /coff switch, leading underscore required for start address : Hello


On the 2nd try :
i got this message:
Fatal: 16 bit segments not supported in module test1.asm

Any one help me please??
Posted on 2003-02-11 03:12:18 by therock
This is for tasm,

Look at this link in forum

hope this helps. If not, tell here.

Good luck
Posted on 2003-02-11 11:42:28 by cakmak
i check all there is no link like TASM in this forum..
Posted on 2003-02-11 14:20:03 by therock
therock cakmak posted a link for you to click :)

it explains how to use tasm with radasm. http://www.asmcommunity.net/board/showthread.php?threadid=7505
Posted on 2003-02-11 15:50:48 by Hiroshimator
i did what u said Cakmak : all 3 step he said
should i edit anything else beside??
I tasm32.exe is fine
but when Link.exe
I got message: Make errors occurs.
Dos screen just go up and flash very quick..but i see somthing message like: "....bad argument.."

Any one can help please??
Posted on 2003-02-11 18:58:53 by therock
well the errors are


FIRST.asm(17) : error A2006: undefined symbol : DGROUP


you use DGROUP somewhere which is probably either a structure or a constant and it has not been defined. You need to define it first so that your assembler knows what it substitutes.


FIRST.asm(27) : warning A4023: with /coff switch, leading underscore required for start address : Hello


apparantly when making a coff app tasm wants your entry point to be named like _<routine name>? It's too long since I even looked at tasm, sorry.


Fatal: 16 bit segments not supported in module test1.asm


I get the impression that you're mixing 16 bit code with 32 bit code.


May be it would be best if you attached your code to the messageboard so that others can have a look at it? :)
Posted on 2003-02-11 19:35:27 by Hiroshimator
Here is the file.asm:



.MODEL SMALL
.586

.STACK 100h

.DATA
Message DB 'Hello, my professor is Mort Schwartz', 13, 10, '$'

.CODE
Hello PROC
mov ax, @data
mov ds, ax
mov dx, OFFSET Message
mov ah, 9h ; The function code for 'display string'
int 21h ; The standard way to call MS/PCDOS
mov al, 0 ; Return code of 0
mov ah, 4ch ; Exit back to MS/PCDOS
int 21h
Hello ENDP

END Hello ; Tells where to start execution



I try run in DOS
I work fine with tasm32 and tlink
but in RAdasm it got message: "Make error occur" after linking
Posted on 2003-02-11 19:59:52 by therock
I suggest you create a template for this project and use same project options for everyone. This is because of (") signs which radasm use while supporting long filenames.
put the "dos16.exe" in radasm directory and as in example ".rap" file, replace dos16.exe with tlink.exe in linker option.

dos16.exe only removes the quotes (") from filenames then invokes tlink.exe. Very simple util.


good luck.
Posted on 2003-02-11 21:49:41 by cakmak
i dont know much about this , could u tell me how to step by step????
u tell me creat template..well then i did it, i see in in template:
[


[MakeDef]
Menu=0,1,1,1,1,1,0,0
1=4,O,$B\brcc32.exe -r -i"$I" -v,1
2=3,O,$B\tasm32.EXE /zn /I"$I",2
3=5,C,$R\dos16.exe,3
4=0,0,,5
5=
6=*.obj,O,$B\tasm32.EXE /zn /I"$I",*.asm
11=4,O,$B\brcc32.exe -r -i"$I" -v,1
12=3,O,$B\tasm32.EXE /zi /I"$I",2
13=5,C,$B\dos16.exe /v /m /L"$L",3
14=0,0,,5
15=
16=*.obj,O,$B\tasm32.EXE /zi /I"$I",*.asm

do i put these code under : ?
but in this code i dont see tlink.exe.
so where can i edit tasm.ini..
can u tell me more???
i dont get it at all ..please thank you
Posted on 2003-02-11 22:25:36 by therock
Hi,

I assume you failed to all :)

1. Open the zip archive then get the dos16.exe. And put it in your RadAsm directory(c:\radasm).

2. Open RadAsm and then open "Help.rap"(RAdasmProject)

3. For test, do a "Build" or "Ctrl+F5".

...if everything is ok then follow the next steps, else...

4. Open tasm.ini in notepad,
* Find this line,


Type=Win32 App,DOS App

and add replace the two line over originals.

* Over the line paste the below lines,
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

Files=1,1,0,0,0
Folders=0,0,0
MenuMake=0,1,1,1,1,1,0,0
;x=FileToDelete/CheckExistsOnExit,
;(O)utput/(C)onsole/0,Command,
;MakeFile1[,MakeFile2[,MakeFile3...]]
1=4,O,$B\brcc32.exe -r -i"$I" -v,1
2=3,O,$B\tasm32.EXE /I"$I",2
3=5,C,$R\Dos16.exe,3
4=0,0,,5
5=
6=*.obj,O,$B\tasm32.EXE /I"$I",*.asm
11=4,O,$B\brcc32.exe -r -i"$I" -v,1
12=3,O,$B\tasm32.EXE /zi /I"$I",2
13=5,C,$B\dos16.EXE /v /L"$L",3
14=0,0,,5
15=
16=*.obj,O,$B\tasm32.EXE /zi /I"$I",*.asm
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
from now on you will have one more option(Dos App) while creating projects :)

5. From project menu click on "Create Template". And when a dialog opened, !!important!! click the button, has "..." on it. Choose a file name then OK.

6. When you will create a new project do these,

* File -> New Project and enter project name, description, Choose "Dos App" radio option and dont forget to click on "..." button(this will open list has the name which you named as template) and click the template and go on to wizard(Next->).

Thats All Folks,

note: Dos16 is the program that invokes "TLink.exe" after removing quotes. This was the main problem to solve is it? So, let it rest in RadAsm directory, of course until KetilO(whose writer of this excellent RAD ide) finds a solution for this :)

I hope, didnt forget anything :)
Posted on 2003-02-12 12:13:41 by cakmak
i did exactly what u said and put "dos16.exe" in directory radasm where radasm.exe and tasm.ini are located
but when i build Help.rap
It did not go through
Tasm is fine, but when linking got message: Make error(s) occurs

So i tried to ignored this, then i create template from it, and create new project what u said..
then i run project...i got message same as above.

If running help.asm with tasm not working at all, is there any way to run it with masm..like:
ml help.asm
But when i run it, i got this message:
C:\Documents and Settings\Hai Hoang\My Documents\cecs325\help.asm(10) : error A2006: undefined symbol : DGROUP
C:\Documents and Settings\Hai Hoang\My Documents\cecs325\help.asm(20) : warning A4023: with /coff switch, leading underscore required for start address : Hello



here my tasm.ini : see reply
Posted on 2003-02-12 13:21:24 by therock


.......
[Paths]
$A=C:\Tasm
$B=$A\BIN
$D=$R\AddIns
$H=$A\Help
$I=$A\Include
$L=$A\LIB
$M=$R\Tasm\Macro
$P=$R\Tasm\Projects
$S=$R\Tasm\Sniplets
$T=$R\Tasm\Templates

[Project]
Type=Win32 App,DOS App
Files=Asm,Inc,Rc,Def,Txt,Mak
Folders=Bak,Mod,Res
MenuMake=Compile RC,Assemble,Link,Build,Go,Run,Go All,Assemble modules
Group=1
GroupExpand=1

[MakeFiles]
0=.rap
1=.rc
2=.asm
3=.obj
4=.res
5=.exe
6=.def
7=.dll
8=.txt
9=.lib
10=.mak

[MakeDefNoProject]
MenuMake=1,1,1,1,1,1,1,0
1=rsrc.res,O,$B\brcc32.exe -r -i"$I" -v,rsrc.res
2=$.obj,O,$B\tasm32.EXE /mx /m4 /z /q /zn /I"$I",$.asm
3=$.exe,O,$B\tlink32.EXE /x /V4.0 /Tpe /aa /c /L"$L",$.obj,|||||,rsrc.res
4=0,0,,$.exe
5=
6=*.obj,O,$B\tasm32.EXE /mx /m4 /z /q /zn /I"$I",*.asm

[Win32 App]
Files=1,1,1,0,0
Folders=1,0,1
MenuMake=1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1
;x=FileToDelete/CheckExistsOnExit,
;(O)utput/(C)onsole/0,Command,
;MakeFile1[,MakeFile2[,MakeFile3...]]
1=4,O,$B\brcc32.exe -r -i"$I" -v,1
2=3,O,$B\tasm32.EXE /mx /m4 /z /q /zn /I"$I",2
3=5,O,$B\tlink32.EXE /x /V4.0 /Tpe /aa /c /L"$L",3,|||||,4
4=0,0,,5
5=
6=*.obj,O,$B\tasm32.EXE /mx /m4 /z /q /zn /I"$I",*.asm
11=4,O,$B\brcc32.exe -r -i"$I" -v,1
12=3,O,$B\tasm32.EXE /mx /m4 /z /q /zn /I"$I",2
13=5,O,$B\tlink32.EXE /x /V4.0 /Tpe /aa /c /L"$L",3,|||||,4
14=0,0,,5
15=
16=*.obj,O,$B\tasm32.EXE /mx /m4 /z /q /zn /I"$I",*.asm


[DOS App]
Files=1,1,0,0,0
Folders=0,0,0
MenuMake=0,1,1,1,1,1,0,0
;x=FileToDelete/CheckExistsOnExit,
;(O)utput/(C)onsole/0,Command,
;MakeFile1[,MakeFile2[,MakeFile3...]]
1=4,O,$B\brcc32.exe -r -i"$I" -v,1
2=3,O,$B\tasm32.EXE /I"$I",2
3=5,C,$R\dos16.exe,3
4=0,0,,5
5=
6=*.obj,O,$B\tasm32.EXE /I"$I",*.asm
11=4,O,$B\brcc32.exe -r -i"$I" -v,1
12=3,O,$B\tasm32.EXE /zi /I"$I",2
13=5,C,$B\dos16.EXE /v /L"$L",3
14=0,0,,5
15=
16=*.obj,O,$B\tasm32.EXE /zi /I"$I",*.asm



[MenuMake]
12=Assemble &Modules,0,M,6
11=-,0,M,
10=Go &All,79,M,1,2,3,4
9=-,0,M,
8=&Run,67,M,4
7=-,0,M,
6=&Go,43,M,2,3,4
5=-,0,M,
4=&Build,103,M,2,3
3=&Link,91,M,3
2=&Assemble,31,M,2
1=&Compile RC,55,M,1

..........
Posted on 2003-02-12 13:22:29 by therock
strange I have got maked the exe without error. The code which you posted here is working good. Did tested with the project which I posted? Where is DGROUP in code?

You can do this job manual as,

Tasm32 Help.asm
Tlink Help.obj

have try this. Which version do you using?

copy and paste here the DOS output, .rap file, your path(autoexec.bat), tasm.cfg, tlink.cfg
Posted on 2003-02-12 14:27:12 by cakmak
I just got error message because i run it with MASM
Now just forget it

I run ok with tasm32 and tlink in DOS window, but i want to use them in RADasm

I want to use TASM
I using verion tasm 5.0

I go around so tired with this....:(
Posted on 2003-02-12 19:25:58 by therock
Try this,

1. Get my new dos16.exe(now it supporting long filenames). I assume path is "c:\Tasm"
2. Got to Tasm directory, if you have a "Tlink.pif" then move it another place for this test.
2. Go to Help project directory(I previously posted), put the dos16.exe there, open a dos window and type,

c:\Help>dos16 "Help.obj" <<<< Exactly! with quotes(")!

note: I assume you have help.obj in directory. If not create the help.obj and put it in it.

now tlink must say you possibly an error message, or will create the exe, what says exactly? If everything is ok then replace the dos16.exe with this one.
Posted on 2003-02-13 08:12:34 by cakmak
It not work:
here in the DOS windows


C:\example>cd Help

C:\example\Help>dir
Volume in drive C has no label.
Volume Serial Number is 88C6-DB0B

Directory of C:\example\Help

02/13/2003 02:52 PM <DIR> .
02/13/2003 02:52 PM <DIR> ..
02/13/2003 03:52 PM 4,096 Dos16.exe
02/12/2003 04:50 AM 526 Help.Asm
02/12/2003 05:35 AM 232 HELP.MAP
02/12/2003 10:53 AM 281 Help.OBJ
02/12/2003 11:01 AM 827 Help.rap
5 File(s) 5,962 bytes
2 Dir(s) 1,835,958,272 bytes free

C:\example\Help>Dos16.exe "Help.obj"

C:\example\Help>Dos16.exe "Help.obj"

C:\example\Help>Dos16 "Help.obj"

C:\example\Help>Dos16 "Help.obj"

C:\example\Help>dir
Volume in drive C has no label.
Volume Serial Number is 88C6-DB0B

Directory of C:\example\Help

02/13/2003 03:02 PM <DIR> .
02/13/2003 03:02 PM <DIR> ..
02/13/2003 03:52 PM 4,096 Dos16.exe
02/12/2003 04:50 AM 526 Help.Asm
02/12/2003 05:35 AM 232 HELP.MAP
02/13/2003 03:02 PM 281 Help.OBJ
02/12/2003 11:01 AM 827 Help.rap
5 File(s) 5,962 bytes
2 Dir(s) 1,835,966,464 bytes free

C:\example\Help>

Posted on 2003-02-13 17:05:34 by therock
:) You understand wrong. I said,


now tlink must say say you possibly an error message
not Dos16.exe
Posted on 2003-02-13 21:21:50 by cakmak
so u want me run tlink in dos windows right..
then i just did it...
it run OK, no problem in Dos, and got no message
.and created a help.exe
but in TASM when i run tlink i got just this message: "Make error(s) occured"
..
What u mean replace dos16.exe
u want me to put dos16.exe replace to what..
sorry i did not get it
Posted on 2003-02-13 22:02:44 by therock
1. Get my new dos16.exe(now it supporting long filenames). I assume path is "c:\Tasm"
2. Got to Tasm directory, if you have a "Tlink.pif" then move it another place for this test.
2. Go to Help project directory(I previously posted), put the dos16.exe there, open a dos window and
type,

c:\Help>dos16 "Help.obj" <<<< Exactly! with quotes(")!

now if you did everything ok after the command tlink(dos window) must be wait for Ctrl+C key kombinations. Please do this.(dont forget 2.)

and only 1 space between dos16 and first "
Posted on 2003-02-13 22:52:59 by cakmak
here what i did:




C:\projects\example\Help>dir
Volume in drive C has no label.
Volume Serial Number is 88C6-DB0B

Directory of C:\projects\example\Help

02/14/2003 12:35 AM <DIR> .
02/14/2003 12:35 AM <DIR> ..
02/13/2003 03:52 PM 4,096 Dos16.exe
02/12/2003 04:50 AM 526 Help.Asm
02/14/2003 12:34 AM 232 HELP.MAP
02/14/2003 12:30 AM 281 Help.OBJ
02/13/2003 03:17 PM 853 Help.rap
5 File(s) 5,988 bytes
2 Dir(s) 1,821,716,480 bytes free

C:\projects\example\Help>dos16 "Help.obj"

C:\projects\example\Help>


then i use tlink:



C:\TASM\BIN>tlink C:\projects\example\Help\Help.obj
Turbo Link Version 7.1.30.1. Copyright (c) 1987, 1996 Borland International

C:\TASM\BIN>cd C:\projects\example\Help

C:\PROJECTS\EXAMPLE\HELP>dir
Volume in drive C has no label.
Volume Serial Number is 88C6-DB0B

Directory of C:\PROJECTS\EXAMPLE\HELP

02/14/2003 12:39 AM <DIR> .
02/14/2003 12:39 AM <DIR> ..
02/13/2003 03:52 PM 4,096 Dos16.exe
02/12/2003 04:50 AM 526 Help.Asm
02/14/2003 12:39 AM 583 HELP.EXE
02/14/2003 12:39 AM 232 HELP.MAP
02/14/2003 12:30 AM 281 Help.OBJ
02/13/2003 03:17 PM 853 Help.rap
6 File(s) 6,571 bytes
2 Dir(s) 1,821,716,480 bytes free

C:\PROJECTS\EXAMPLE\HELP>help.exe
Hello, my professor is Mort Schwartz

C:\PROJECTS\EXAMPLE\HELP>



So what i do next :(
Posted on 2003-02-14 02:40:47 by therock