howdy, what a nice place this board seems to be, anyway, I haven't programmed x86 assembly for *quite* some time, so I'll probably ask a lot of dumb questions while getting back into the game. First off, when I just started programming again now I have some questions about register preservation across api calls, basically which method is more faster/effective, say if I need to preserve a register between api calls, is it faster to push/pop or do a mov <reg>,

pseudo example:

mov ebx, (important data to preserve)
push ebx
invoke API_CALL_THAT_TRASHES_EBX
pop ebx
inc ebx
push ebx
invoke API_CALL_THAT_THRASHES_EBX
pop ebx

or is this faster/better/smarter?

mov ebx, (important data to preserve)
push ebx
invoke API_CALL_THAT_TRASHES_EBX
mov ebx,
inc ebx
invoke API_CALL_THAT_THRASHES_EBX
pop ebx

in this short example the pushing and poping of the first code won't do any difference, but while preserving a reg during a LONG line of API calls I wondered if it's not more efficient to just use mov <reg>, instead of pop/push between each api call.

sorry if this is really a dumb question, as I said I haven't programmed x86 for QUITE a while, in fact last time I programmed x86 was using the pmode dos extender (ahh those were the days!)

kind regards, BinarySoup
Posted on 2003-03-04 10:41:03 by BinarySoup
There's been a LOT said on register preservation. here's the summary:

1) All api functions will preserve ebx,edi,esi. In your example above you don't need to push/pop ebx on every function call.
2) If you alter ebx,edi,esi in your function then you must preserve them.
3) the other registers eax,ecx,edx are expendable.

mov <reg>, would be faster. I wouldn't get too smart if i were you. with each push/pop esp will change and you could very easily end up sitting in the corner with a pointy hat...;)
Posted on 2003-03-04 12:14:55 by MArtial_Code