Hi all. This is my first time posting here, though I have been coming to this site for a few months on and off. I'm currently working on Tut 10 example 1, and I can't get the code to run properly.
The code assembles fine, but when I run it (masm 6.14 | win2000 PE) nothing happens, but the process is listed under the task manager.
I suspected it was something I missed, so I cut and paste the code & rc file and the same thing happend. Has this happend to anyone else? Is it just me? Is there something wrong with the code? Is there anything else to eat in my house besides ramen noodles?

Thanks all,
lackluster
Posted on 2001-09-30 12:23:03 by lackluster
The same thing happend with the second example also......
Posted on 2001-09-30 13:01:37 by lackluster
did you try re-building Iczelion's samples and they failed?
Or did you copy & paste and your copy failed?
Cos i had lots of similar problems when i played with those tuts..
It's very easy to screw them :)
Posted on 2001-09-30 13:11:42 by latigo
Yeah, I downloaded the .zip files and tried to build them and the same thing happend.
Posted on 2001-09-30 16:24:34 by lackluster
Im not positive, but i think Ic's Tut 10 is the first time your introduced to .rc files.

The entire dialog box is designed with and .rc script outlining the placement of the controls, and their type.

This .rc file needs to be "Compiled" into an .obj file as well!! If you dont, the program will build and link.. but when ran, you wont get anything, because the process can't find the resource, assumed to be linked within the .exe.

Another thing is the standard compile batch file (build.bat) doesnt compile resources explicitly. You need to either modify your own batch file to include resources, or use the included (builda.bat) (( Build All ~ found in the \bin\ dir.)).