Hello..

I am a newbie in assembly... so I don't know those FPU instructions and did not deal with them at all...

I need a program that solves a quadratic equation using the discriminant.

that is x=(-b+-sqrt(4ac))/(2a)

input: a,b,c
output: x1, x2

ignoring imaginary numbers.. as simple as that.

Can u help me out?
Posted on 2001-10-01 17:27:43 by Spirit
Hey.. I forgot to tell u :)...

I have MASM611 and don't deal with Win32asm.

DOS environment only..
Posted on 2001-10-01 17:30:44 by Spirit
Well get started... :)

And when you find you got a prob, ask us... But we wont do your homework for you :) (Im assuming this from the fact you want a "schoolish type equation" to be done on a 16 bit compiler (something else that schools typically favor). Oh ya, and your quadratic formula is wrong, :) ... the root is wrong.. should be sqrt( B^2 - 4(A)(C) )... )

As a hint to get you going in the right direction, get Zakiel's floating point tutorials... (He also goes by Eoin).. you can find them by searchin the board with the search button (top right, off screen). Look for "floating Point" and see what it drags up. :)

If not, search the web for the Art of Assembly online pdf. AoA for short. There is an entire chapter on floating point.

Good luck..

NaN
Posted on 2001-10-01 18:37:53 by NaN
Oh no... i did the same mistake again... yeah... thanks for the correction...

Anyways, i will try to make use of those tuturials and the AOA, but of course any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks again and iam waiting for any help, at least for the square root prob.

thanks
Posted on 2001-10-01 18:55:24 by Spirit
This is no real need for more help in this area, look at Zakiel's first tut. It has every operation you need in it...

Well almost, since you are doing a quadratic, you need to do a comparison to determin if the ROOTS are REAL or IMAGINARY.