I'm writing a program that gets bigger every day (of course). But I feel dirty about putting everything in one .asm file (besides the .dll).

A.) When should I use more than one .asm & .obj file?

B.) How do I implement such a thing? Including linking and coding.

Thanks again for the seemingly infinte knowledge found on these boards.
Posted on 2001-10-28 14:15:10 by lackluster
I develop in VB for a living, that means lots of different files in any one project :) However, with my asm stuff, i usually put the function declares in one file, the include statements in another, and the global data declares in a third. If the main file is still getting too big, i then move completed parts of the code to another file, but this is just so i don't have to scroll through heaps of code all the time, once i finish the app i move all the code back into the same file again.

It will be interesting to see what habits other people have :)
Posted on 2001-10-28 14:32:14 by sluggy
Heres how i do a basic window.
Posted on 2001-10-28 16:02:35 by ChimpFace9000
sluggy, That what I do. I'm pass 12,000 lines of code and when I'm finish Next Year it all goes to one NutShell.

ChimpFace9000 What the deal with 003.zip there is not .lib files. Is this a better way to code or what. Will it save steps or stay safe. I want to know. I'm now concern about making my app hard to crack so the writing style may be an very imortant thing. I have no problem moving to a better style of coding.. My style now has always been Icz Style but that was design to learn with I MAYBE. Thanks
Posted on 2001-10-28 16:59:51 by cmax
lackluster,

You have a number of options to stop a program from getting too big. The "include" syntax in MASM allows you to write multiple files and simply include them in a main file.

For larger size apps, you can build a library and have the finished pieces of code linked when you build the program.