hi! I'm a newbie in winsock programming and i'm french (excuse my english)
In fact i'd like to make a chat program, so i need to send and receive datas. But shall i create one socket to send and one socket to receive or Can i create a socket to send and receive data?
I don't know if the last solution is possible
I hope that you will help me
Bye!
Posted on 2001-11-18 03:32:15 by D-|HacKeR
Use one socket, sockets have two-way communication... However on the server side, you always have one socket that listens for incomming connections, which isn't used for communication. As soon as you accept a connection on that socket, you get a handle to a new socket (the client socket), which you can use to both receive and send data to that specific client. The server socket just keeps listening for more connections in the meantime.

Thomas
Posted on 2001-11-18 04:37:39 by Thomas
Thanks i'm going to try and i will tell you want happened..
Posted on 2001-11-18 07:15:41 by D-|HacKeR
It works !! thanks a lot! :)
Posted on 2001-11-18 07:22:48 by D-|HacKeR
Da Hacker, j'ai le m?me probl?me que toi.

Tu peux me contacter par mail, pour voir ton avancement STP.
Morgatte@citeweb.net

Merci
Posted on 2001-12-05 11:24:19 by Morgatte
salut!
C'est incroyable ton nom me disait qq chose: j'ai lu tes traductions des tuts
de iczlizon (si ca s'?crit comme ca). Merci beaucoup!!
J'ai pas pu ?crire plus tot car j'ai un prof de francais un peu ouf qui nous
donne trop de boulot, en plus je suis en 1?re et ca bosse dur :)

Ben pour le programme avec les socket je m'en rapelle presque plus tellement qu
e c'est lointain: en fait j'ai envie d'essayer de faire un client Irc quand
j'aurais du temps libre.En ayant l'explication de Thomas je m'?tais content? de
faire un programme permettant de chatter entre 2 ordis.

Voila , Ben ?cris moi :)
Bye!
Posted on 2001-12-15 07:48:52 by D-|HacKeR
If you keep your posts in english, everybody can benefit from them... :rolleyes:
Posted on 2001-12-15 08:20:32 by f0dder