Hi,

I am only a asm coder, duno C nor C++ ;-(

I want to learn COM, but I have no idea where to begin.
I have read some VC++ COM programming, but not able to understand ;-(

can all your experienced COM coders please give me some tips on where to begin my road to COM as easy as possible????

thank you all!

sincerely,
Posted on 2001-11-28 19:41:08 by Masata
You can start by asking your COM thoughts in the COM section (i suspect this thread will get moved :) )

Secondly, there are many smart people working with COM and im sure they will help you with more focused questions, but in general you need to get a good book on COM (Ernie tends to rave over one COM book (dunno the title tho), but you can find it in the COM section threads (go way back tho ie, early summer) )

Also, goto Ernie's web page and read his tuts (if you are able, they are quite technical, BUT written for MASM!! ). Ernie's World !

Second last, spend some time sifting thu the existing COM threads and discussions and pick up what you can. Some will be over you head, but some will be simple Q and A's.

Lastly, Go thru and study the Colib directory stuff. I started with Ernie's Short-Cut COM example (simple). I traced to all the included COM includes, and TOTALLY studied them. Once this was understood i had my feet on the ground with COM.

Best of luck!
:alright:
NaN
Posted on 2001-11-28 23:03:43 by NaN
thank you NaN!

I will try my best!

sincerely,
Posted on 2001-11-28 23:49:09 by masata
Here is a list of four of the best books on COM:

"Inside COM"

"Inside COM"

"Inside COM"

"Inside COM"

(got that Nan?) ;-)
Posted on 2001-11-29 21:38:22 by Ernie
Got ya Ernie!

thank you, I will look for it ;-)

just curious, how long does it take u guys to understand COM???

sincerely,
Posted on 2001-11-30 00:22:18 by Masata
Myself about 1-2 months... (but i never bought any book)..

But i did hassle Ernie pretty good for a couple of weeks :)

NaN
Posted on 2001-11-30 15:44:51 by NaN