Hi!
I'm extremely new in asm, but I want to know, how can I work with .jpg files and how to get a few .jpg's in one .mpg file. Could you help me (or just give me a link to any resuorces about this topic). I'd be gratefull.

xwicher, the Newb
Posted on 2001-12-05 05:22:44 by xwicher
this question is like:

Hey - I never did something practical, but now I want to build
a house. I own a shovel and some stones - how to build?

*joke off*

this tasks are extremly hard to solve, even in asm, but also
in other languages. Maybe you try to find a ready-to-use
solution.
Posted on 2001-12-05 05:29:13 by beaster
Hi,

as a beginner it will take you an amazing long time and as a professional a long long time too.

solution #1:
Just look for some libraries which will shorter the way to your goal. That way I cant give help.

solution #2:
- get the JPEG docu from web
- get the JPEG reference code (C language) www.wotsit.org
- write you own JPG decoder
- get the ISO/IEC 11172/1 and 11172/2 standard
- write an MPEG encoder
- maybe you will need an multiplexer too

This will take you approximately 1-2 years of work I promise.

Looks like the most gigantic project I've ever seen on this board. But dont care. It's a lot of work and makes lot's of fun.

Bye Miracle
Posted on 2001-12-05 05:37:31 by miracle
BTW ..

there is a special Motion JPEG/MJPEG format. In contrast to a real MPEG file it consists of JPEGs as far as i know .. www.jpeg.com.

Maybe this will reduce the work by a couple of month.

Bye Miracle
Posted on 2001-12-05 05:50:21 by miracle
Hey miracle, how is your mpeg player going?
Posted on 2001-12-05 09:02:58 by f0dder
Hi F0dder,

runs great for MPEG1/MPEG2 video and layer1/layer2 audio but now I'm in the hell again turning it to a dvd player with AC3/DECSS/SPU/IFO etc. Some parts are still finished.
In addition I try to write an encoder so that I'll be able to do some DVD authoring. :-)

I guess in 2525 I'll start the next piece of coding.

Bye Miracle