Greetings. I'm new to Windows programming, but I've been playing with PC ASM since the days of the 8088. Before that I did a fair amount of 6502 micro ASM on an Atari-800, the same CPU as the old Apple-II. I've been a System/360-370-390 mainframe assembly language programmer since 1971. So much for my intro, on to the question. What's up with the different versions of import libs? I downloaded MASM32, and it contains KERNEL32.LIB, for example. I also have Visual Studio 6.0, which also comes with KERNEL32.LIB. But they are quite different! MASM32 - 687,536 bytes VS-6.0 - 175,226 bytes What are the differences? Can I use the VS version, since it's also newer? Also, can I find the version of a LIB, except for the date? Thanks in advance for your help. And this is a great site!!!!!
Posted on 2001-01-25 04:44:00 by S/390
s/390, Glad to see a few mainframe men left. The libraries supplied with MASM32 are from the PLATFORMSDK and are current to win98/NT4, the later ones tend to support the later OS versions but the earlier ones run fine in the later systems. Just as a precaution, I would get used to the ones that come with it first, you can sometimes get the odd incompatibility by mixing them. If you need the later functions, I would be inclined to get the latest platformsdk libraries if you need them, they are usually later than the VC versions. Regards and Good luck, hutch@pbq.com.au
Posted on 2001-01-25 21:21:00 by hutch--
Thanks hutch--. I guess I'll use the libs that come with MASM32 for now. It just seems kinda silly to have 2 copies of the "same" set of libs. But hey, what's 20 meg to an 8 gig drive... Maybe after I learn a little more about how windows works, I'll try playing with the other libs. Thanks again!!!
Posted on 2001-01-26 23:12:00 by S/390