How to check periodically for internet connection using console application? It must work on both Dial-up and LAN. So it would be probably an ping or something like this? Plese if you have some code snippet it will help me. i am absolute beginner in MASM. Thank you. Michal.
Posted on 2000-11-09 16:02:00 by Raguru
what about checking the users IP? if it's not 127.0.0.0 then he's connected right?
Posted on 2000-11-10 07:54:00 by Hiroshimator
Not really true - 127.0.0.1 (.1 not .0) will be your IP if you have the situation where you have, say, no network cards etc. In my case I have a network card and the internet conn, so I get 127.0.0.1 and a 192.168.x.x address for my local and then get the internet addr... ping probably not a bad idea. Search through .asm webrings and sites for some winsock eg. on this OR maybe just try to resolve a known DNS to a IP and if it works you probably got a internet link somewhere (use the resolve winsock command) James
Posted on 2000-11-10 21:29:00 by james
I have got some application yet. It starts checks for conn and close it self. But i need some messageloop or something to do it PERIODICALLY. That is the point. I would sen you my source for you to implement that loop or timer or something because I am not so good to do it. Raguru.
Posted on 2000-11-11 06:56:00 by Raguru
thanks, I'm not a network hero :) why don't you use a timer?
Posted on 2000-11-13 06:36:00 by Hiroshimator
You can use: InternetGetConnectedState its in WININET.DLL ... search info on MSDN
Posted on 2000-11-13 09:44:00 by unknow
http://www.mvps.org/vbnet/code/reg/activeconnect.htm this is a VB example that works well it queries for a registry key that windows sets when you have a net connection.
Posted on 2000-11-13 14:29:00 by Hiroshimator