What is 'uses esi edi' ? Why sometime we put that and other time we don't ? Intell PROC use esi edi entree1:DWORD, entree2:BYTE LOCAL buffer[512]:BYTE ret Intell ENDP Thanks for Reply.
Posted on 2000-11-30 06:42:00 by Morgatte
I maybe wrong here (I'm fairly new to this asm stuff), but I think it means that at the end of the PROC those registers are restored to the value they had when the PROC was called. Its the same as: Intell PROC entree1:DWORD, entree2:BYTE LOCAL buffer[512]:BYTE push edi push esi ... mov edi, stuff ;We use edi in our code mov esi, more_stuff ;We also use esi in our code ... pop esi ;Restore esi to value when called pop edi ;Restore edi to value when called ret Intell ENDP Then again I may be getting confused with something else... :P Mirno
Posted on 2000-11-30 07:35:00 by Mirno
Doh! It got confused by my "" bit! Just incase that doesnt turn out right: Doh! It got confused by my "(Less than)Code goes here(Greater than)" bit! :) Mirno
Posted on 2000-11-30 08:18:00 by Mirno
Thanks, I happy
Posted on 2000-11-30 11:42:00 by Morgatte
J'll examine that to see if it's really that
Posted on 2000-11-30 11:43:00 by Morgatte
I come just to try with W32Dasm, it works :)
Posted on 2000-11-30 12:07:00 by Morgatte
Morgatte, 32 bit windows has a convention in relation to which registers you can freely use and which ones you must preserve. You can freely use EAX, ECX & EDX but you must preserve EBX, ESI & EDI if you use them in a procedure. Some people use the MASM notation "uses ESI EDI" but it works just as well if you manually preserve the registers, ProcName proc par1:DWORD, par2:DWORD etc ... push esi push edi ; write code that uses esi edi pop edi pop esi ret ; always have a return instruction ProcName endp Make sure you do the pushes and pops in reverse order. Regards, hutch@pbq.com.au
Posted on 2000-11-30 19:53:00 by hutch--