Thanx to Von-Bonjour, im quite happily getting my own hardware expariments going.. (can hardly wait to get my etch-a-sketch going on stepper motors.. hehehe :P ) But I am still quite new to 32bit asm and have found 3 problems that im seaching to fix.. 1) I understand 16 bit no problem, but surprisingly im haveing a difficult time manipulating 32 bit registers/memory to 16 bit or 8 bit and back.. (moreso on the later) My first experiment/idea to learn from was to translate and display DWORDS in hex by converting them to a string and displaying in a message box. I normally wouldnt have much problem, but i've discovered there is no 32bit shift/rol. So i decided to code a Macro to do this for me, but then i ran into a problem realizing that I cant just build a 32 bit value like i would for a 16 bit (ie mov ah, high; mov al, low). Im sure this is really not a tough problem but its go me snagged at the moment. 2) I then thought it may be easier if i looked up an API reference, but I can seem to find anything.. (and im not even sure if my api/html references i found are complete enough) ~~ anyone have any ideas of where get a good list of api references?? So far im mainly writing out stuff from other people's code.. 3) Math... I can build my own math libraries (which would be slow going im sure) for 32bit asm, but i was wondering what other people do when it comes to math? And I admit, my 16 bit experiences didnt really include floating point math... Again if someone has a sugestion where to start looking i thank you in advanced... NaN
Posted on 2001-01-11 20:55:00 by NaN