I am a beginner at the windows programming ( MASM32 Version 6.14). It recently occured to me - why on the earth the directory \masm32\lib exist. A final *.exe file produced by the linker refers to windows *.dll files but not to *.lib files.
Posted on 2001-01-19 05:53:00 by lekimus
You can use the object code contained in those LIBs in your application. If your app doesn't use any code from a LIB the linker doesn't need to link them. Xtreme
Posted on 2001-01-19 06:05:00 by xtreme
Sorry! What difference in this case between the /masm32/lib/user32.lib the and /windows/system/user32.dll. If my programm call subroutine KillTimer (for example) then the linker make reference to the second file (to my mind). For what purposes the object code of this procedure contains the first file.
Posted on 2001-01-19 06:45:00 by lekimus
lekimus, Libraries perform 2 functions in MASM, they can be either IMPORT libraries which means they have the data required by the linker to call specific API calls or they can be what is normally called STATIC libraries which you can write yourself. If you have a common piece of code that you use regularly and don't need to change, you can write it as a module and build a library with it and other modules. This is a very efficient way of storing large amounts of pre-compiled code. The difference between a Dynamic Link Library and a static library is that the static library code is linked into your program where a dynamic link library is called at runtime and is a a seperate file. Both have their advantages but they are different things, if you want freestanding EXE files, you will either write all of the code or use library functions to do part of it. Regards, hutch@pbq.com.au
Posted on 2001-01-19 08:00:00 by Steve Hutchesson