What all does one need to know to start game programming?
Posted on 2001-05-12 05:58:00 by MovingFulcrum
Hi, I am not a game programmer myself (even though I would like to!) but I think one thing is very important (not language specific): You have to know your way around with the language you chose. I don't say it because I think you don't know this but I saw several people in my school saying "Ohh well, I want to code a graphic engine, 20times faster then the one used in HALF-LIFE. What do I have to do?" And even though you know your way in programming, you should get yourself familiar with graphic programming (no matter whether 2D or 3D or 4D :D ) and know about things like collision detection, probably grids, screen updating (was my problem for some time, thank you Bogdan!), how to tackle different screen resolutions, etc pp. Next thing you should know about programming games is how games work, e.g the different loops in games (TURN BASED, REALTIME, any others?), the use of timers for input and so on (believe me, I saw a game some time ago without any timer, so on my P150 it was okay and on the Duron700 it was a total mess) and which fits your game best. Getting somewhat further you should know how to work with sounds and how to get several sounds at the same time (my problem now!!") and maybe how to set the possibility for setup of the game with graphic settings, sound settings, input devices. For the half-advanced :D you can tackle multiplayer facilites and there again you have to know the differences between the Network protocols and the way you want the network version to work. For the advanced you can add AI (Artificial Intelligence, TERMINATOR calling??) for computer enemies and you can improve game speed by debugging code, speeding up algos and so on. To make your game more interesting add the possibility of changing levels meaning more enemies, less time, more complexity of the level (for logical thinking games), higher speed, less room to act,...... NOTE