I wonder how many people here are programmers for a living? It may seem strange but this is just a hobby for me, my real job has absolutely nothing to do with a computer other than to control the brewhouse PLC's. I find programming challenging and an escape from work. I would like to do more, however, an hour or two a week is all I can get in.
Posted on 2001-05-26 11:33:00 by brewmanchu
Hmm, even though I think we already had this type of question once before (Just curious....) I'll answer this as well ;) Since I am a student (or have been until now!) I didn't have that much time to program in any language. However I had always been interested in Computers and programming things. Nearly everybody of you/us knows the feeling of being proud about a proggy which took you a large amount of time to finish it but then it works. Therefore I spent/spend a lot of time in front of my PC. Sometimes I am not writing any code but just looking at others programs. I enjoy searching Programming Sites (like Planet Source Code) for sources in other languages to think about how this could be done in Win32asm. Maybe you ask yourself, why I am doing this? - Well, I want to understand many different (are they so much different?) languages because later on, when I finished my time at the MARINE (the German Navy), I want to get a job in a programmers company like the one my cousin has. There they develope programms for E-Business using JAVA *arrgh*. They don't just sit in front of their computers and hammer code into the keyboard but they talk to their clients and they discuss in teams who does what and how this has to be done. I want to work in a team and share my knowledge with the partners. So, at the moment I just program for fun but in the future I will code for fun & money! Stefan
Posted on 2001-05-26 15:43:00 by Stefan Krause