I'm just starting out trying to learn assembler. I've been trying to compare NASM and MASM to see which dialect would be better to concentrate on learning. I don't really know enough yet though to be able see how significant the differences are and what the advantages to each are (I suppose I could just try to learn both). I was wondering if someone had experience with both and could give me some guidance. Thanks.
Posted on 2001-06-28 21:19:00 by arcbee
I've heard that they have different methods of implementing the message loop. Another assembler called FAsm has more obvious differences. But with the use of macro, stucts, etc., any assembler can be made to look like another.
Posted on 2001-06-28 21:28:00 by eet_1024
i think you will find that masm will be your best choice. most people on this message board use masm so getting help will be pretty easy. you wont find another assembly message board around where you can get help like around here. the best tutorials around are tutorials designed to be used with masm anyways. masm is really good assembler and i hear so are some of the others such as nasm but i guarentee that you have a harder time trying to learn assembly using anything else besides masm. smurf
Posted on 2001-06-28 21:46:00 by smurf
At this point in time, MASM in 32 bit windows is more powerful and it has far better support than NASM so in the first instance to learn assembler, MASM will be a better choice. When you are more experienced with assembler you will be able to pick your way through some of the different assemblers available. NASM is well suited for LINUX and there are a couple of assemblers being developed that are being mentioned on this forum from time to time. Both FASM and Spasm are in their development cycle at the moment and will continue to become more powerful as they are developed further. Regards, hutch@pbq.com.au
Posted on 2001-06-28 22:20:00 by hutch--