I'm fairly new to MASM32, and I've run into a minor problem.

I was going through Iczelion's first few tutorials, and after a while I noticed a strange problem. In Win2k, if you run the tutorials from a DOS box in full screen mode, the system crashes completely. (No error, no warning, just boom the system restarts) I've tested this on Win98 and WinME, and it doesn't happen in either case. It's not that I really NEED it to work in this specific case, but nonetheless it seems like a bug. Any ideas on what might be wrong?

(btw it's not entirely impossible that it could be limited to just this system, it occasionally reboots just for the heck of it; the person who put the system together really didn't know what he was doing, hehe)
Posted on 2002-01-28 05:38:58 by k_oticman
I've seen at least 4 win2k boxes that 'reboots just for the heck of it', including the one i'm using at home. what i did was unplug some kind of power cable from the board (I'm sure what it was but it worked! :grin: ). hey, it's an old p2 and i'm waiting for it to give me a good reason to upgrade :grin:

as for icz's tutorials, i haven't had problems running them. so you're 'my-machine-sucks' theory may be right ;-)

.pix
Posted on 2002-01-28 07:15:09 by pixelwise
Hm, this sounds weird. Could you zip up an executable that has
this problem and post on the board? I wouldn't mind testing it.
Which version of win2k? no service packs? And, which processor?
(Athlon and a motherboard with VIA chipset, eh? ;P).
Posted on 2002-01-28 07:18:25 by f0dder
hmm....
according to System properties:
Microsoft Windows 2000
Service Pack 1

the processor info:
x86 Family 6 Model 7 Stepping 3
AT/AT COMPATIBLE
261,620 KB RAM