Hi All,

I am new to PC assembler but I have coded 680x0 assembler for many years. I would like to move over to PC assembly but I am not sure whether I should go with HLA (which makes more sense to me) or normal masm or tasm assemblers.
I would like to find out about the limitations or HLA as opposed to assemblers in respect to demos & some win32 programming!?.

Any advice much appreciated

Regards

Tomek
Posted on 2002-02-01 00:35:28 by tomek
Im not sure if im the "proper" first reply, but myself, and with my experience with many languages (assembly and C ~ (sytles)), i am personally unconvinced as of yet to deviate from the MASM32 assembly.

However, my motivations to keep programming is for "brain - teaser" type problems, and learning how to optomize myself into building the best "system" structure to adhear to the microsoft way of doing things.

If learning radical new ways at looking at problems to make something work is your thing, then i would definitely sugest you investing your time into the MASM32 package that Hutch provides on his web-site.

NaN
Posted on 2002-02-01 00:56:15 by NaN
I don't like HLA... except for macros-like things...

I don't see the point to use it... to me it is the same as using C and asm inline sometimes...
Posted on 2002-02-01 01:09:35 by JCP
I'm not a big fan of HLA either, it has a quirky syntax. MASM is much more natural.
Posted on 2002-02-01 03:38:53 by Asm_Freak
Hi,

funny, many years ago when I went from Amiga (68000 - 68020) to PC I've had the same question :)

If you are familar with:

move #1, d0

then

mov eax, 1
will not surprise you. There are only a couple of things which are different.
- operand order,
- byte order in memory
- less registers (really shitty)- much more speed (hehe)

Depending on what you are going to code you may choose MASM because most of the stuff at this board depends
on it. But there are very good other assemblers. Check out http://betov.free.fr/SpAsm.html too.