Hello,

sorry for the probably recurring and stupid question (in the FAQ however I wasn't able to find it) but wanting to start doing some assembler programming I was considering which one to choose (TASM, MASM, NASM, A86, FASM, etc). Could anyone help out explaining also why one could be better than another? I have both TASM 5 which I bought a year ago (complete of paper documentation) and MASM 6.11. I also downloaded hutch's MASM32 (by the way does it differ and how from MASM???).

Regards,
YAA
Posted on 2002-09-14 07:06:24 by yaa
With Masm 6.11 alone its difficult do to any windows programming, Hutchs Masm32 package bundles Masm 6.11 along with everything else you need to start programming under Windows. For a complete beginner its indespensible. I started with Masm32.

I can't say much about Tasm/Nasm/A86 as I've never used any of them.

As for Fasm, well thats the one I currently use. Something about it I just like, I feel Fasm source code looks nicer than Masms. Also Privalov (Thomaz) its developer frequents this forum and is eternaly helpful, of course everyone here is :) .

It shouldn't really matter too much which you choose though, once you know one its easy to change to another :alright: .
Posted on 2002-09-14 07:34:46 by Eóin
If you are using assembler for Windows programming you could also look at my GoAsm at www.GoDevTool.com
Posted on 2002-09-14 11:32:38 by jorgon
I use MASM, but I'm not sure about FASM, I would like to try it. But MASM draws me close mainly because of its ease of use. I'm not the one to mess with linkers, I mean with TASM5 and TLINK I would just do this:

TASM source.asm
TLINK source.asm

BOOM, EXE created :D

But I would start with MASM, very nice package.
Posted on 2002-09-14 12:03:57 by x86asm
hutch's masm32 package for sure if you are a bigenner ...
if you don't like masm you can change it later but to learn easily you gota get masm32 package ...