Simple string search function for finding 'wrdf' in 'sentc', copying from 'sentc' + 'fromoffs' to 'copyto'. This function copies only 'copylen' amount of bytes into 'copyto' or until it finds one of 5 bytes from 'until' in 'sentc' whilst copying. It will then put a 0 byte at the end to terminate the string and the value of how many byte offsets from the beginning of 'sentc' it found the matching word will be in eax. I'm a bit new to asm so tell me what u think or also any alternative or shorter ways of doing this

substrext proc STDCALL wrdf:dword, sentc:dword, copyto:dword, until:dword, fromoffs:dword, copylen:dword
mov ebx, sentc
cmp wrdf, NULL
je @@gofound
invoke _strlen, wrdf
mov , eax
mov esi, wrdf
mov ebx, sentc
mov cl, ; wrdf[0] to cx
mov edi, 0
mov eax, 0
jmp @@lop

@@gofound:
mov , 0
mov , ebx
jmp @@foundmatch

@@lop:
mov dl, ; sentc to dx
cmp cl, dl ; compare wrdf[0] to sentc
je @@found
inc ebx
inc eax
cmp dl, 0 ; if at end of string
je @@done2
jmp @@lop

@@found:
mov , ebx
mov , eax
mov eax,
inc ebx
inc esi

@@lop2:
mov cl, byte ptr
mov dl, byte ptr
cmp cl, 0
je @@foundmatch
cmp cl, dl
jne @@nomatch
inc ebx
inc esi
jmp @@lop2

@@nomatch:
mov esi, wrdf
mov ebx,
mov eax,
inc ebx
inc eax
mov edi, 0
mov cl, ; move wrdf[0] back into cx
jmp @@lop

@@foundmatch:
mov ebx,
mov esi, 0
mov edi,
mov ecx,
mov edx,
cmp ecx, 0
je @@done
cmp edx, 0
je @@done

@@copychars:
inc esi
cmp esi, ecx
je @@appo
dec esi
mov al, byte ptr ; sentc to ax

@@compare:
push ebx
mov ebx, until
cmp al, byte ptr
je @@appo2
cmp al, byte ptr
je @@appo2
cmp al, byte ptr
je @@appo2
cmp al, byte ptr
je @@appo2
cmp al, byte ptr
je @@appo2

@@continue:
mov ebx, edx
mov , al ; copy from sentc to copyto
cmp al, 0
je @@done

pop ebx
inc edi
inc esi
jmp @@copychars

@@appo:
pop ebx
mov al, 0
dec esi
mov , al
jmp @@done

@@appo2:
pop ebx
mov ebx, edx
mov al, 0
mov , al

@@done:
mov eax,
ret

@@done2:
mov eax, -1
ret

substrext endp
Posted on 2001-08-30 15:51:49 by nin
nin,